HandshakeCurrently I’m re-reading the Stephen Covey classic The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People (I’ll post a full review in a few days or so). One of the many incredible ideas in the book is the notion of a 30 day trial for proactivity.

I first came across the concept of a 30 day trial – at least it first sank in – after reading Steve Pavlina‘s excellent article 30 days to success. Having subsequently used the idea with great success during my initial foray into the world of biphasic sleeping, I know just how powerful it can be.

For 30 days, Covey urges us to :

Make small commitments and keep them. Be a light, not a judge. Be a model, not a critic. Be part of the solution, not part of the problem.

That sounds like a very worthwhile trial indeed – and mine began today. Feel free to let me know if I step out of line.

