pMetricsI’ve been using Google Analytics for a while now to keep track of my sites. It’s widely used, extremely powerful and – above all – free. A winning combination.

There are, however, a couple of drawbacks. By far the most important of these – to me at least – is the fact that it seems unnecessarily complicated to use. All I really need to know is what people are searching for, and how many of them are finding it. Everything else is fairly clear once these things are identified.

In Analytics, these items are quietly tucked away in a dark corner. I know where they are because I use them all the time, but that’s hardly the point. I still need to go through several irrelevant pages to get to them.

A couple of days ago I stumbled across Performancing’s pMetrics package. As with any of these things, I’ll give it a week or two to show what it can do; but so far, it looks great. If you’re looking for an inexpensive, simple, efficient stats package; pMetrics should be on your list.

I’ll give it more of a review once I’ve had a chance to really put it to the test; most likely at the end of next week. Now, to generate some extra traffic to thoroughly check it.

